About Us

Overview and History

Symbiosis is one of India’s leading educational Institutions imparting quality education for over 38 years. Symbiosis is a family of 42 academic institutions spread across 17 campuses in and around Pune, sister city to Mumbai -India’s commercial capital and also in Bangalore & Noida.

Symbiosis Motto: “Vasudhaiva Kutumbakkam” means “World is one Family”

It is host to over 45,000 Indian and International students on campus and over 1,00,000 students off campus. These campuses epitomize the Symbiosis motto, “Promoting International Understanding through Quality Education” and are a beehive of international students from all across the globe, being privy to Indian culture and hospitality. Many of these campuses are fully residential and recreational facilities include swimming pools, amphitheaters & Health Care centers.

Keeping its excellent track record in mind, in 2002, the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India conferred the “to be Deemed University” status on Symbiosis, and further in 2006 the University Grants Commission, Government of India vide its notification withdrew the word Deemed and renamed the University as Symbiosis International Deemed University. Symbiosis International Deemed University is accredited with Grade “A” by National Assessment


To serve the cause of education by carefully nurturing the children under our care; to unfold into young adults with the right values and the courage; conviction and fortitude to make a difference to the world at large.

Policy of Excellence

The Symbiosis School, is committed to : The student community at large; nurturing the talent, potential in each student; developing the human resource for the future and present, towards worthy contribution to the society and country in its own mite; inculcating values, which promote peaceful co-existence at the national and international level.

Symbiosis at a Glance

Year of Establishment : 1971

Managing Committee

Dr.S.B.Mujumdar : Founder and President
Dr.A.V.Sangamnerkar : Vice-President
Dr.Vidya Yeravdekar : Principal Director
Mrs.S.S.Mujumdar : Member
Dr.Swati Mujumdar : Member
Dr.S.S.Ghali : Member
Dr.C.R.Patil : Member
Mrs.Sanjeevani Patil : Member
Dr.N.V.Unkule : Member
Mr.Abhijit V.Walimbe : Member
Dr.Rajiv Yeravdekar : Member